District Court

District courts are created by the Constitution. They are the trial courts of Kansas, with general original jurisdiction over all civil and criminal cases, including divorce and domestic relations, damage suits, probate and administration of estates, guardianships, conservatorships, care of the mentally ill, juvenile matters, and small claims. It is here that the criminal and civil jury trials are held. Kansas is divided into judicial districts, with varying numbers of judges in each district. There is a district court in each county, and an office of the clerk of the court where cases may be filed. 

Phillips County is in the 17th Judicial District. The counties include Phillips, Norton, Decatur, Graham, Osborne, and Smith.

The Honorable Preston A. Pratt serves the 17th Judicial District as District Court Judge and The Honorable Paula D. Hofaker serves Phillips Court as the Magistrate Judge. 

Debra D. Grammon is the district court clerk and Deena L. Lamp is the deputy court clerk. Lisa A. Dusin serves the chief court services officer for the 17th Judicial District

General Information
Clerk of District Court
Debra Grammon
District Magistrate Judge
Hon. Paula Hofaker
Court Services
Lisa Dusin
District Judge
Hon. Preston Pratt
Phone Numbers
Fax: 785-543-6832
Emergencies: Dial 911
301 State Street

8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
coutrhouse image